Formula E unveiled Berlin track at Tempelhof Airport

Automotive IQ

The new all-electric FIA Formula E Championship unveiled the circuit layout for the Berlin ePrix on May 23 2015, sponsored by Logistics Company DHL. The 2.47-km, 17-turn custom-made circuit will run in the former Tempelhof Airport located in the city center.

Designed by Rodrigo Nunes, it is the setting for the eighth race in the inaugural Formula E season. Compared to the usual array of 90-degree corners that have populated most of the street circuits, the Berlin circuit looks to have a mix of carousels, tight corners and sweeping corners.

Formula E Berlin track ePrix Tempelhof Airport

Image: FIA Formula E Championship

The announcement was made during a press conference held at the former airport and attended by Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag, CEO of DHL Express Europe John Pearson together with the championship’s two German drivers Daniel Abt (Audi Sport Abt Team) and Nick Heidfeld (Venturi Team).

Speaking about the circuit layout, Nick Heidfeld, said: "It’s going to be very special racing in front of my home crowd and I’m really looking forward to it. It will be the first time for me racing on somewhere like this so should have its own special atmosphere. It looks like it’s going to be a very twisty and challenging circuit with 17 turns in under 2.5km and I think the fans are going to have great visibility wherever they are."

Formula E Berlin ePrix

Image: FIA Formula E Championship

Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag added: "Berlin is one of the leading cities in Europe for innovation and sustainable mobility, whilst Germany is renowned for its motorsport passion and hence why we selected it as a host city for Formula E."

8 Manufacturers for Season 2 of the Formula E

Just recently the FIA has revealed the eight manufacturers who will enter the second season of the Formula E Championship – further increasing the series’ credentials as a test bed for the development of advanced electric vehicle technology.

For the ongoing inaugural 2014/2015 season, the 10 Formula E teams all compete using identical single-seaters – the Spark-Renault SRT_01E – utilizing a powertrain by McLaren Electronic Systems. From the 2015/2016 season, the series will become an open championship allowing manufacturers to pursue their own in-house innovations, beginning with the development of powertrains.

Interested in learning more? Read our Interview with Formula E System Engineer Jens Håberle.

In order to limit costs and promote investment and innovation in the most important areas, the manufacturers’ scope is initially limited to the powertrain – specifically the e-motor, the inverter, the gearbox and the cooling system. All other parts on the cars will remain as they are, with the aim being to prevent costly aerodynamic developments.

As such, the FIA has selected the following eight manufacturers for Season 2:

  • ABT Sportsline
  • Andretti
  • Mahindra
  • Motomatica (Trulli)
  • NEXTEV TCR (Team China Racing)
  • Renault Sport
  • Venturi Automobiles
  • Virgin Racing Engineering


FIA Formula E Championship


Company information according to § 5 Telemediengesetz
IQPC Gesellschaft für Management Konferenzen mbH
Address: Friedrichstrasse 94, 10117 Berlin
Tel: 49 (0) 30 20 913 -274
Fax: 49 (0) 30 20 913 240
Registered at: Amtsgericht Charlottenburg, HRB 76720
VAT-Number: DE210454451
Management: Silke Klaudat, Richard A. Worden, Michael R. Worden

Firmeninformationen entsprechend § 5 Telemediengesetz
IQPC Gesellschaft für Management Konferenzen mbH
Adresse: Friedrichstrasse 94, 10117 Berlin
Telefonnummer: 030 20913 -274
Fax: 49 (0) 30 20 913 240
Email Adresse:
Registereintragungen: Amtsgericht Charlottenburg HRB 76720
Umsatzsteuer- Indentifikationsnummer DE210454451
Geschäftsführung: Silke Klaudat, Richard A. Worden, Michael R. Worden